facebook

Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary (Narodzenia Najświętszej Maryi Panny) in Chechło

Address:
Chechło
GPS:
50° 21' 56.9484" N 19° 29' 51.9144" E
Description

The church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Chechło

The neoclassical parish church dates from 1807. The rococo main altar contains a painting of the Virgin Mary with Child, painted on a wooden board, probably from the sixteenth or seventeenth-century. There are also two side altars from the mid-seventeenth century.  A baroque painting of St. Anthony in a silver dress can be found in the northern part of the church. Above it, is the image of St. Sophia flanked by figures of saints Andrew and Christopher and topped by the figure of St. Michael. The second side altar, to the right of the bay chancel, contains a painting of St. Anne, Mary and the Child.  Above it is a picture of St. Joseph flanked by sculptures of saints James and Adalbert. The other two side altars are late baroque. The second altar on the south wall contains an eighteenth century crucifix. The church is surrounded by a wall with towers, two of which are still covered with shingles. The other two have roofs covered with metal.
 

The bell tower of 1830
 
The bell tower with a clock in the shape of a baroque altar is located next to the church.

 

Cemetery.

At the cemetery you can see the historic nineteenth-century tombs of the local property owners. On the left from the entrance there are five graves in the shape of a pyramid inscribed with the coats of arms of noble families:  the Wiśniewski family coat of arms, as well as the Szreniawa and Ciolek coats of arms. The tombstones are engraved with beautiful epitaphs, devoted to the wife of Teodor Kmita: Therein lies Faustina née Krzemieńska, beloved wife of Teodor Kmita, mother of seven children. She was taken by inexorable death in the prime of youth, at the age of 36 and was called to eternity from the bosom of her family and friends on March 31, 1848. At the cemetery, you can also see the beautiful tombs of the nobility and the mass grave of the soldiers of the “Surowiec” partisan battalion of the 23rd Infantry Division of the Home Army, who fell at Błojec in 1944.
The nineteenth-century vicarage is also noteworthy.

 

 Roadside shrines.
 
The traditional folk roadside shrines are well worth visiting. It is often possible to see a plate with an inscription, for example, the nineteenth-century brick chapel founded by the rich Mól family near Hutki-Kanki contains an inscription with the names of the founders and their supplication for prayer.
Although most of the chapels were built in the nineteenth century, they are preserved in very good condition.  They are located in following streets: Młyńska, Rodacka, Ogrodzienieca and Kluczewska. The latter contains a figure of Jesus: the Man of Sorrows.

 source: www.gmina-klucze.pl

Other tourist attractions
Our partners
  • #
  • http://www.ck.wolbrom.pl/
  • http://nadbialaprzemsza.org.pl/news_selectcats.php?cat_id=20
  • http://zamki-gotyckie.pl
  • http://www.wolbrom.pl
  • http://www.gmina-klucze.pl
  • http://www.imbramowice.pl/
  • #
  • http://www.malopolskie.pl
  • #
  • http://www.gminaboleslaw.pl
  • http://www.zpk.com.pl/
  • http://www.trzyciaz.ug.pl
  • http://centrumkultury.gminaboleslaw.pl/index.php
  • http://www.projektadrenalina.com/
  • http://sp.olkusz.pl
  • http://www.mok.olkusz.pl/
  • http://www.nadbialaprzemsza.org.pl
  • http://www.malopolskie.pl/
  • http://www.gokklucze.pl/
  • http://www.rabsztyn.ilkus.pl/
Weather
E-card
About us

Regio4trip.pl Portal was created within the project "Building a network of cooperation between the partners of the Ol...

Click to read more
Contact
e-mail:lgd@nadbialaprzemsza.org.pl
tel. +48 32 724 25 23
Click to see more
Register as partner

Register as a partner

We invite all business entities of the tourism sector, including catering and accommodation providers, to join the...

Register as a partner
Terms and conditions
Have a nice day :)
Regio4Trip team